A 3D Artist looking at doing 3D printable models

Greetings!

Newby here, :sweat_smile: hope you’re doing well, not sure if this is the right place to ask, if not, I do apologize. So before I do ask, want to give some background about me so it would make it easier to understand what I’m asking.

I have been a 3D artist for a long time now, but have never really gotten into making 3D printable models (though I love the prospect of printing a digital model into a physical object), I have only done 2 models for printing in all my time as being a 3D artist and it feels surreal to hold something in my hands that was ones and zeros just a few days prior. :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: A friend of mine bought herself a 3D printer a while back, and have since been printing all sorts of cool and useful things.

She recently forwarded the competition you guys have to make Octiman a 3D printable, with some creative freedom. In light of that, I have considered in taking part, however I am mostly a digital 3D artist by trade, rendering, 3D modeling etc, so I don’t really know much about how to make a 3D model as widely and universally printable as possible and generally the technical bits and bobs of making a 3D model printable.

I made a character model for shapeways back in 2014/2015, and they provided plenty of requirements to make the model printable for the set material it was being printed in such as: min and max overhang, wall thickness, print resolution etc, which did help a ton to make the model on my end. Even though the print from them came out amazingly well, they never mentioned if there was something I could have done wrong or could have done better to make it easier to print or not. So I generally don’t know if how I did it was actually right or good enough.

So I would love to ask, regarding making these models printable since you guys are way more experienced with this part of 3D than I: