LED Lightbulb Stand

Wassup Community :wave:t3: Here’s a little inspiration project to get you thinking and making for future projects. I will be talking about my light bulb and stand I 3D Printed, I also added some red LED’s inside to give it more of an extraordinary feel – because ordinary bulbs just ain’t that fun!

Truth be told, I was learning as I was progressing through this project. I know that the bulb I found off Thingiverse needed a part to hold the LEDs in, so I took to Tinkercad to play around a bit and see what I could come up with as I am still a beginner. I ended up adding a tube-like structure into the center of the bulb to house the LEDs as it was not a hollow design.

After I was happy with the adjustments, I started to test print it on our CR-20. I used vase mode with 2 outer shells/perimeters as I wanted an almost transparent look, even though it’s not fully achievable with clear filament. The only downfall of doing so was the gaps and rough edging created towards the end of the bulb. So, the only way to resolve this was to add more outer shells. Also, note that not all standard bulbs are the same size, I realized my stand was a tad too small and yet again Tinkercad saved the day, to make it taller and sturdier💪🏼

So now that my intro is out of the way, lets get you sorted. Here’s what you’ll need.

The modified files have already been edited and should fit together as described in this project. You will need to gather all your products, tools and equipment to get started on the assembling. This list is what I used to complete the project.

Original files:
Light Bulb Vase Stand by Paul126

3D Printed Light Bulb by 3DPrinterNinja

Modified files:
3D Printed Light Bulb and Stand

Equipment:
3D Printer
eSUN Transparent PLA
Filamentum Gold PLA
LED Light Strip
DC-DC Boost Step Up Module
Soldering Iron
Solder Flux
Sestic Glue
Micro USB Charging Cable