What did you enjoy about turning Octiman 3D?

Hi #HuggedbyOcti Makers.

We have seen Makers from all over enter the competition, some are 3D designers by trade while others are trying something new for the first time.

I have 3 quick questions for all the people who entered the competition.

1. What inspired you to take part in the competitions (if it was something besides the awesome prizes :wink:)?
  2. What part of the modelling did you enjoy the most?
  3. If this was your first time 3D modelling then how did you find the experience?
3 Likes

Hi DIYE team and Community.

“What inspired you to take part in the competitions (if it was something besides the awesome prizes :wink:)?”

The main reason I took part in the competition was to test my abilities and do something a little beyond my comfort zone. I have always designed practical parts and modelling something that was more of an art piece was pushing the boundaries for me. :octiman:

“What part of the modelling did you enjoy the most?”

The most enjoyable part of the modelling process was definitely the rendering. As mentioned before I almost exclusively model practical parts and the process is generally colourless and boring. To finally be able to see your creation with colour and texture was very satisfying. :drooling_face:

“If this was your first time 3D modelling then how did you find the experience?”

Although it’s not my first time 3D modelling, I definitely did some things for the first time in the modelling process. I used AutoCAD which is almost always used for 2D technical drawings with 3D modelling used in a complimentary manner.